Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Security System Overhaul

Hello,

I am a Sys Admin and I say that in order to establish that I am very technical with regards to technology. However, I am a complete n00b when it comes to Security Systems.

I have a very sizable project that I have been put in charge of for a Non-Profit. The building that I am looking to secure is around 90K sqft, it has two entrances to the parking lot , 3 main entrances to the building, and 8 hallways that need surveillance as well.

Currently there are four underspec'd and outdated cameras on the roof that yield unintelligible pictures and no sufficient interior surveillance. The doors to the facility are all keyed and there are too many people with keys to the facility. The alarm system is so outdated that there is no way to procure the data that gives entry and exit times and codes. The system needs a complete overhaul.

I would like to attack this project in three stages:

Stage 1: Provide interior video surveillance to the 3 entrances, and hallways.
    Stage 2: Provide exterior video surveillance
    Stage 3: Provide Keycard entry system for Security

I have been doing my best to find information on systems that provide the best value at the lowest cost but I need help being pointed in the right direction. I am comfortable installing and maintaining the sytem myself but need to know which technologies provide the best value and what I should lookout for.

Right now I'm considering Pelco for the Camera manufacturer, and Anixter and Emcor as potential Security system distributors.

First of all, I would recommend using a pro, a small to mid size local company, where you will get attention. Your job isn't that big really, though not small.

Installing locks well is an art unto itself, the most difficult part of the job you describe. What exit devices will you need? It will effect life safety, so you want to make sure it's done right and to code.