Reading List

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Reading List

Being relitively new to the security field, I'm a former Navy Technician; I was wondering if their are any books that are must reads. The company I work for is new to the security world, so I'm pretty much starting from scratch on my tech library.
    Thanks

What field?
    Retail Security Consultant / Expert Witness
    Co-Author - Effective Security Management 6th Edition

Contributor to Retail Crime, Security and Loss Prevention: An Encyclopedic Reference

Comment

Re: What Field

We specialize in Government Facilities.
      Here is a partial list of the products and equipment I will be working with.
      FLIR, RACON 13000, 14000, 16000, video surveillance and servers, sensors, alarms, transponders, copper/ optical fiber, taut wire, E-Flex, tamper systems, infrared detectors, CCTV, field distribution boxes, Hisch (Velocity) and Vindicator (VCC and V5) entry/ access control and alarm systems.
      Last edited by jbow808; 03-27-2008, 01:02 PM. Reason: spelling

Comment

Start with CCTV For Security Professionals. Before you start installing these devices, you'd do well to get a feel for what they're for. The Complete Book of Electronic Security is good too, it goes through all the basic concepts.
        Last edited by CameraMan; 03-27-2008, 12:42 PM. Reason: added a book.
        The CCTV Blog.

"Expert" is something like "leader". It's not a title that you can ever claim for yourself no matter what you might know or might have done. It's a title that others bestow on you based on their assessment of what you know and what you have done.

-SecTrainer

Comment

Damb I wanna play in your toy box. I wish i could get a budget for some FLIR.
          Ethical Schizophrenia is the substance of heroes. -Frank Rich

Comment

Originally posted by jbow808 View Post