Webcam homeland

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Webcam homeland

This is a idea that I guess never did take off. It does appear that the main web site is still active. It is appealing on the surface. I would be interested in forum member input.

http://www.usatoday.com/tech/news/in...homeland_x.htm

http://www.ushomeguard.org/

I personally like it...There's the added bonus that you never know what location you're watching, and it appears to have enough fail-safes (assuming it attracted a large enough number of users). I'd be interested in what type of vetting process they'd use.

Comment

On the slideshow, one slide said spotters would be paid 8-10 an hour for their work. Later it says that the program will work because of the VOLUNTEERISM of its members.

...time to do some recalculating.
      "Alright guys listen up, ya'll have probably heard this before, Jackson vs. Securiplex corporation; I am a private security officer, I have no State or governmental authority. I stand as an ordinary citizen. I have no right to; detain, interrogate or otherwise interfere with your personal property-... basically all that means is I'm a cop."-Officer Ernie
      "The Curve" 1998

Comment

Although this sounds like a good idea, I think there are some issues involved. If you think about it, everytime there is any type of alert, LEO's get thousands of leads-most worthless. (I have no idea what percentages, as I have never been an LEO.) Can you imagine how many false hits it would get? People make poor observers.

Also, with intelligent video software, there is no need. By the time this thing would get off the ground, the next generation of video analysis software will be doing some amazing things.

Comment

Trained Observers