Help with VOIP & Alarms

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with VOIP & Alarms

Hi My name is Patrick and I am a installation manager for my families alarm company. We also have our own U.L.C.S. I having been having problems with Residential VOIP. I can DL the Panels but Can not get them to Communicate. Any help would be great. Thank you

That is a problem that alot of alarm companies face. It depends mainly on what VOIP service provider the client is using. The first thing that should be done is the alarm panel should be first in line for the phone system with the rest of the house (if only 1 line) coming out of the panel. Second, if the client is using Vonage for their VOIP, have them call Vonage and set the packetization level to 10. Then test the system again. Also if the system is calling a local number Vonage requires an 11 digit phone number. If you are still having problems, I recommend that the client put in a limited line. The cost is about $15 per month. PM me with your e-mail address and I can send you more detailed information.
    Last edited by Rooney; 02-12-2007, 08:13 PM. Reason: clarification

Comment

I've heard nothing but problems running data traffic over consumer grade VoIP (managed by someone else, with a little Linksys ATA and stock settings at the provider.)
      Some Kind of Commando Leader

"Every time I see another crazy Florida post, I'm glad I don't work there." ~ Minneapolis Security on Florida Security Law

Comment

There are a number of potential compatibility issues and these can run all the way down to the codec and compression employed by different VOIP providers, which may or may not be compatible with the PacketCable standard, to improper wiring of the jacks, and even customers who are still on local POTS service while LD is back-hauled via VOIP.