Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CCTV Design Help

Forum Members,

I would appreciate any advice you are willing to throw my way. I am new to CCTV and video surveillance, but need to become very educated in a very short period of time.

I am interested in CCTV system design, mostly IP based systems, but am not really picky.

Do you recommend any classes or books to become very familiar with CCTV in a short time? Any certifications that are available, certs help me learn, as their is a point to all my study if I can take a test.

Thanks all,

Rookie.

The first book I would recomend you check out is CCTV for Security Managers, by Alan Matchett. In very simple language, it explains what CCTV is for, which you need to know before you learn how it's done or how to do it.

Next, I'd get CCTV, by Vlado Damjanovski a good overview of where the industry was about three or four years ago. Much of the gee-whiz high tech stuff is ancient and obsolete nowadays but you need to crawl before you can run.

The Internet has some terrific free resources. ASIS's security toolkit has some good placement and usage guidelines. The FBI has a Guidlines and Reccomendations paper which I found usefull. Axis has an essential IP Video How-To guide (warning: pdf file) that is utterly essential to IP camera design- print this out and memorize it, assuming you have some background in networking and computers. If you don't you'll be utterly lost. If you have no networking experience, read Networking for Dummies.

Some other sites are Info4Security, SSN, Security Products, andSIW (of course).

If all else fails, everyone here is either knowledgable, a wiseass, or both.

And remember, relax. This is not rocket science. If it was, most people in the industry would be on welfare or selling subprime mortgages.
    The CCTV Blog.