ip video transmission

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ip video transmission

I'm a computer and electronic technician...Lately, I have been installing analog video camera systems with no problem at all...The last installation I did took place in the building I live in. Fortunately for me, my landlord brought the whole video system...I installed 8 cameras inside and outside the building...Now he asked me if I could install ip video cameras...I do have some knowledge about computer ip address for instance but just a little bit of ip video systems...Some of the questions I have would be the following...
    1.- Do I need to configure the ip cameras with ip addresses...
    2.- Since this new installation requires at least 500 feet of coax cable, do I need a device to bring the video signal from one end to the other end ?...
    3.- How I'm going to power the cameras ?

I would like to find a good system for putting all these ip video cameras over coax....Any suggestions ??

Thank you for any help....

Is there a reason for not using ethernet or wireless connectivity? You could use analog encoders to digitize the stream. What video management software are you using? Have you looked at Avigilon's stuff?
    Safe Small Towns

Comment

Sorry, I'm new here and still learning how to post. I couldn't remember all of your questions when I clicked to reply so I'm going back over them here:

1.- Do I need to configure the ip cameras with ip addresses.

-Yes, because any device on the network has to have an IP, but how you do that is the question. They will either have static IPs or your system will assign them via DHCP.

2.- Since this new installation requires at least 500 feet of coax cable, do I need a device to bring the video signal from one end to the other end ?...