State/Provincial Police

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• State/Provincial Police

Do all US states have a State Police force?

In Canada only Quebec & Ontario have them. Newfoundland has the Newfoundland Constabulary but I don't think they cover the whole province. The other Canadian provinces contract their provincial policing to the Royal Canadian Mounted Police. A lot of cities in these provinces also contract their municipal policing to the RCMP. The SQ in Quebec & OPP in Ontario provide policing services to some cities in their provinces too.
    I enforce rules and regulations, not laws.
    Security Officers. The 1st First Responders.

I believe so.
    "Alright guys listen up, ya'll have probably heard this before, Jackson vs. Securiplex corporation; I am a private security officer, I have no State or governmental authority. I stand as an ordinary citizen. I have no right to; detain, interrogate or otherwise interfere with your personal property-... basically all that means is I'm a cop."-Officer Ernie
    "The Curve" 1998

Comment

Originally posted by HotelSecurity
      Do all US states have a State Police force?

In Canada only Quebec & Ontario have them. Newfoundland has the Newfoundland Constabulary but I don't think they cover the whole province. The other Canadian provinces contract their provincial policing to the Royal Canadian Mounted Police. A lot of cities in these provinces also contract their municipal policing to the RCMP. The SQ in Quebec & OPP in Ontario provide policing services to some cities in their provinces too.
      HotelSecurity:
      Some states have State Police like here in Virginia, Maryland and Pennsylvania. Others have State Highway Patrol such as California, Ohio and Georgia.
      Highway patrols enforce traffic laws on the state's highways and enforce law in local jurisdictions when either invited in or as directed by the governor of that state.