am i working a dangerous post??

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• am i working a dangerous post??

Greetings! New to the site. I've been doing security for 11 months and recently changed employer. it's a patrol job, unarmed, solo, no gear, in the city of pomona for all of the "quikemarts".
    i don't know if maybe im in the minority here but i feel like this is too dangerous. pays 14 an hour. hostile homeless people and gangbangers and all i got is a pen and note pad and phone
    would you walk from this?
    I need answers.
    thanks in advance.
    I hope this is in the right section

I would be finding something else first then walking

Comment

The short answer is, TOII is right. I'm surprised you're a patrolman with no equipment. Most of the patrol guys I've seen carry something, at least OC spray and handcuffs.

There is a broader question here, which is when is unarmed security too dangerous? I'd say the simple formula is look at the risk, the pay and what you are expected to do. If I'm just an o & r guard in a protected booth, then a certain amount of risk might be OK, because I'm basically safe. If the pay were much higher and you were unarmed, then you figure out if that's worth it to you.

Looks to me like you work in a high crime area. So, $14.00 an hour is too low a wage, and your co. is nuts to have you driving around with nothing.

https://www.neighborhoodscout.com/ca/pomona/crime
      Last edited by Condo Guard; 05-03-2017, 09:39 AM.

Comment

Before we can answer that question we have to know what it is exactly that you're expected to do. If you don't have to interact with the street slime you're probably OK

Comment

I'm expected to convince loiterers to leave. i arrived at a site on my list and there was a brawl in the rear parking lot.
          I'm going to look at other options because this is crazy.

​​​

Comment

thanks for the replies everyone.!

Comment

Originally posted by rekaepa View Post