help needed getting equipment approval

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• help needed getting equipment approval

Edited for privacy concerns and unable to get a deletion.
    Last edited by jer6141; 02-27-2008, 06:33 PM.

A PR-24, whether expandable or not, is a training intensive tool. That means many hours of training before it can be used as anything more than a bat. An straight expanadable baton, such as an ASP or similar design, is what it is: an impact tool. I know, I'm an instructor with both, that they are advertised an taught to be used defensively as a blocking tol and come-along, but primarily it will be swung at the treat. I think that you have a good force option with the OC spray and a lower liability. Also, what do you mean by a restrictive handcuff policy? Obviously you will be cuffing those who are being detained or those who you had to use force on, correct?
    Jerry
    http://personalprotectionconcepts.info

Comment

Originally posted by jmaccauley View Post
      A PR-24, whether expandable or not, is a training intensive tool. That means many hours of training before it can be used as anything more than a bat. An straight expanadable baton, such as an ASP or similar design, is what it is: an impact tool. I know, I'm an instructor with both, that they are advertised an taught to be used defensively as a blocking tol and come-along, but primarily it will be swung at the treat. I think that you have a good force option with the OC spray and a lower liability. Also, what do you mean by a restrictive handcuff policy? Obviously you will be cuffing those who are being detained or those who you had to use force on, correct?
      I agree that spray (again, with appropriate training) would normally be preferable to the baton, on many levels. In fact, I'd rather see Tasers than batons.