COPIED: LPA Killed while making apprehension

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• COPIED: LPA Killed while making apprehension

Hey everyone this is my first time posting on this site and unfortunately its a post I wish I was not making.

A few weeks ago Greg Wainio a LPA for Kmart was killed while attempting to apprehend a male subject shoplifting. He leaves behind 2 young children and countless others who loved him. I did not know this LP but I want to try and support his family the best that I can by letting everyone know on this board how to make a donation and contribute to the family. Kmart has set up a fund for Greg Wainio which so far has raised over $50,000.

I believe the only stores accepting donations are in the Greater Metro Detroit area. If you or anyone you know live in or around that area please take a second to stop into the store and make a donation at any checkout or the service desk. Just tell the checkout operator you wish to make a donation to the Greg Wainio fund. I will post up more information if I find out more stores in the corporation accepting donations.

Thanks guys and please be safe

I'm always outraged by this sort of thing. All over $400 worth of CDs. Two in custody on murder charges, but that doesn't bring the officer back.

This obituary from The Mining Journal tells where to send donations (last paragraph) for those not living in the area. It would be nice if those who can would send a donation, even if it's only lighting one small candle against the darkness:

GAINES - Gregory "Greg" Wainio, 36, of Gaines, formerly of Grand Blanc, Mich., passed away on Thursday, January 14, 2010.

Greg died while performing his job as a loss prevention officer at a Kmart store in Waterford, Mich. A funeral service was held at Allen Funeral Home, Davison, Mich., on Monday, January 18, 2010, with Pastor Jim Combs Sr. officiating. Cremation will take place.