Looking to get into the business.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking to get into the business.

Im 19 and have just graduated HS in Wisconsin. I was interested in law enforcement and security for years. Id like to become a bodyguard/security officer but Im not sure how to get started. The research Ive done for schools and courses look like scams, I mean how can you really learn "hands on" over your computer on an "online course." Im a martial artist and well built which I've been told helps alot, but what kind of personal protection schools are there? How do I get started?

Martial Arts won't help you, honestly. Its a totally different world, you must be able to use force to the standards of the State of Wisconsin Department of Justice, called the DAAT system. You must be able to articulate what level of force was used against you, what level of force you used on the attacker, and why you felt the force was necessary.

To be a security officer, you must be licensed by the State of Wisconsin, Division of Licensing and Regulation. To offer private police, watchman, or army services without a license is a felony. (Unlicensed Peace Officer Act)

Protection services are performed by Private Investigators in Wisconsin. However, the first thing you have to do is take a test with Promissor, a testing company. The test is $130 dollars, and and then you will pay an additional fee to the state. You must study for the test by purchasing text books, the State DRL website tells you what texts the test is taken from.

Wisconsin law states that only a sworn peace officer (A law enforcement officer, park ranger, water patrol officer, or other government agent authorized to go armed) may carry a concealed weapon. Sworn peace officers must still undergo DRL training in Private Officer Firearms to get their Private Security Firearms Permit. The only thing this allows you to do is carry a firearm openly while providing security services in a uniform.