Run in with Rent-a-cop discussion

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Run in with Rent-a-cop discussion

There's a discussion over at a Conceal Carry gun forum I frequent. The URL for the thread is at- http://www.combatcarry.com/vbulletin...ad.php?t=10280
    The 2 problems I have with this are-
    1- the original posters attitude toward Security in general
    and
    2-the constant use of the term Rent-a-cop. Many here know that it's a major pet peeve of mine when jerks use this term to refer to any Security Officer. As I've stated before, I'm not a rent-a-cop, I'm a Security Officer. You want a rent-a-cop? Contact your local LE agency and arrange to pay the department for a secified number of LEOs who will come to your facility in their Police uniforms driving their Police cars and will work your "extra duty assignment". You get a bonified cop to watch your place and the LEO gets to make some extra money on his off hours from this regular duty shift.

Comments?
    Hospital Security Officer

Seems like another version of the constant battle between security and the rest of the world. Both sides have valid points concerning security in general. The field still suffers from a poor perception for the most part. However I wonder if backyard mechanic with his concealed permit would have found it as funny if armed s/o's had initiated the stop, noticed the pistol, and he had found himself staring down a barrel. Doesn't seem like a person with the maturity to carry concealed or otherwise.
    Old age and treachery will defeat youth and enthusiasm every time-

Comment

Most people on packing.org and other sites believe they have more rights than a "stupid security guard" because they are citizens, and "rent-a-cops don't have powers." I.e. second class citizenship.