P&O goes drug free?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• P&O goes drug free?

Recent reports in Australia.P&O cruise ship passengers may have to face sniffer dogs before departure because a female passenger was given a lethal does of a date rape drug(Fantasy).They are also considering cctv systems and on board security officers. What do you think? What about staff, should they be checked?
    We haven't had trouble for a while, Let's cancel security!

Hell yeah they should. Especially if they are travelling to other countries. There should be no expectation of privacy when boarding a private vessel.
    "Alright guys listen up, ya'll have probably heard this before, Jackson vs. Securiplex corporation; I am a private security officer, I have no State or governmental authority. I stand as an ordinary citizen. I have no right to; detain, interrogate or otherwise interfere with your personal property-... basically all that means is I'm a cop."-Officer Ernie
    "The Curve" 1998

Comment

International Waters

One of the challenges with cruise lines is that some of these crimes occur in international waters where no one country has jurisdiction. In addition, the ship itself may be registered in a country other than the USA, which further compounds the justice issue after a crime occurs.

Also, it's easy for a crewmember to get off the ship after committing a crime since the ship may visit many ports during a cruise. Cruise lines will often fire such an individual, but may not attempt to take judicial action. The former crewmember can sign up for work with another cruise line and the passengers may be none the wiser.

Yes, all cruise lines need security and screening in my opinion.
      Security: Freedom from fear; danger; safe; a feeling of well-being. (Webster's)

Comment

Originally posted by Mr. Security
        One of the challenges with cruise lines is that some of these crimes occur in international waters where no one country has jurisdiction.