Interview attire

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Interview attire

This is probably a silly question, but I'm just a young college student with not that much experience with "real world politics", and I guess this is a good place to ask.

Tomorrow morning, I am interviewing for an LP position at a major (national chain) upscale mall anchor clothing store. Now, all of my previous jobs (fast food, I.T., bigbox retail, contract security) have been very casual, and I usually just wore a button shirt, nice jeans, and brown casual loafers to those interviews.

Basically, what should I wear? A friend told me to wear a standard suit, but I think that might be a little much for this type of job. Then again, I'm not sure if my typical interview attire is enough/appropriate. Thoughts? (especially from LP hiring managers)
    Last edited by Just_Some_Guy; 12-27-2007, 12:01 AM.

My suggestion... wear a suit.
    "To win one hundred victories in one hundred battles is not the highest skill. To subdue the enemy without fighting is the highest skill." Sun-Tzu

Comment

I dress pretty much the same for all my interviews, better to over dress then under dress.

Dress pants, nice dress shirt, a jacket if you really want to make an impression (full suit ALWAYS looks great), a solid or light design tie (dont go in there with the light up tie that plays songs...) some nice shoes, do your hair up nice, and last but certainly not least bring a positive attitude and a smile.

Comment

I'd say definately go with at least a dress shirt, tie and some nice slacks w/dress shoes. ALWAYS have a positive attitude as well...you'll do fine
        "Life In Every Breath"

Comment

I hope I made my point?

Unless you can give a good reason not to wear one,

WEAR A SUIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!

Did I make that too subtle?

Comment