Q for WA SO's re: CCW on the job

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Q for WA SO's re: CCW on the job

This question is for SO's in Washington. I seem to remember reading somewhere, a while back, that you are not allowed to carry concealed when on duty. I recently wanted to look up this law, but was unable to find it in the RCW. Was I imagining things, or am I just not finding it?

Don't know where you heard this, but there's two ways around this question. If you are armed you're good to carry concealed if you've qualified with the weapon and the Co. authorizes it. If you're unarmed it is unlawful for you to carry a firearm regardless of whether its concealed or open.
    "Alright guys listen up, ya'll have probably heard this before, Jackson vs. Securiplex corporation; I am a private security officer, I have no State or governmental authority. I stand as an ordinary citizen. I have no right to; detain, interrogate or otherwise interfere with your personal property-... basically all that means is I'm a cop."-Officer Ernie
    "The Curve" 1998

Comment

^ +1 to what BHR said.

If you have a CCW, and you've got your armed s/o card, you can carry concealed **as long as your company allows it.** Keep in mind though you need both. The way the law was explained to me, if you don't have a CCW but you have your armed card and carry on duty, your weapon needs to be stowed in the trunk when you're on your way to/from work since you're no longer "on duty." The armed license doesn't cover you when you're not in any official capacity, so you would need a CCW to leave it in the holster for the drive home. (Sounds silly imho, but that's just me) Realistically speaking, I've never heard of any S/Os being charged or getting hassled while on their way to/from work, but that doesn't mean it could never happen.
      Corbier's Commandos - "Stickin it to the ninjas!"
      Originally posted by ValleyOne