How easy is your job?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How easy is your job?

I have been a trainee in the nuclear security field, and am currently working in unarmed contract security. I've been at 3 different sites that our company has contracts for, and the post I am assigned to now has got to be the easiest security job ever. I know most of you guys here have busy jobs that come with alot of responsibility. Some of you are also EMTs, you may have arrest powers or carry weapons, have multiple buildings to patrol several times a shift or you may drive security vehicles.

Our contract is with a pharmaceutical company. They have us under contract to provide security for two buildings on the campus. It is a 5 officer site. Two officers and the site manager on first shift, and two officers on second shift. Each officer is assigned to one of the two buildings, so we don't rotate and we rarely travel to eachother's buildings. I'm on the second shift (3pm to 11pm) and I might talk to the other officer about once a week. There is no graveyard shift, since the main campus security drives around, they are able to respond to alarms in our buildings and watch it during the midnight hours. We have all holidays off (they aren't paid though), and a week off for christmas. There is virtually no overtime here unless an officer quits.

90% of my shift is spent at the security desk in the lobby. The desk is equipped with a printer and computer which has the alarm monitoring software and software to issue and modify access badges. There are two monitors and a joystick pad for the Pan Tilt and Zoom cameras that are in the building and outside. And there is a refridgerator and microwave (that I purchased and added )