Moving Up In The Field

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Moving Up In The Field

Hey guys, as some of ya know I am pretty new to this field of work, I have only been working security for about a month, but I find myself even more interested in the job now. I was just wondering what are some of the things one can do to get noticed for promotions?

So far I have just been trying to fill out my reports as detailed as possible and have been trying to provide the best customer service I can with clients. I work for a contract company so I am constantly getting shipped around to different sites. However I have already had 2 clients call in "demanding more like him". I take great pride in what I do and want to move up as quick as possible but realize that the industry is based around low cost guards.

I have also thought about getting licensed as a PI, does anyone on here have experience with that? I don't mean as a floor walker but as a hollywoodesque PI. Does such a thing really exist? Sadly I have realized already that the Hollywood version of the security guard does... some people just shouldn't work lol.

But ya, what skills should I work on? What kind of materials should I be reading? How can I make myself more appealing for the raises or better sites?

Originally posted by Cactus View Post
    So far I have just been trying to fill out my reports as detailed as possible and have been trying to provide the best customer service I can with clients. I work for a contract company so I am constantly getting shipped around to different sites. However I have already had 2 clients call in "demanding more like him". I take great pride in what I do and want to move up as quick as possible but realize that the industry is based around low cost guards.

But ya, what skills should I work on? What kind of materials should I be reading? How can I make myself more appealing for the raises or better sites?