Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Considering a change of venue

Guys,

Im usually a lurker around here, and chime in from time to time.

Im currently a Mall Security/Public Safety Officer at a large mall in WI, and have been for 6 years now.

I am considering applying for a position as a Hospital Security Officer at the Local Hospital which is only a couple minutes away from the mall.

As far as my training is concerened, Ive been through MDTS, CPR/AED, and OC Defensive Tactics (OC Spray Training). Ive also been through some DAAT stuff through the Police Reserves and stuff like that.

My question is, I know there are some slight differences between Hospital Security and Mall Security, is there a pay difference, or are they about the same? ( I mean generally, not property specific)

Pay depends on where you are and who does the security at the hospital, in house or contract.

As for differences, I'd personally say there are more than a few slight ones, but it's something you have to experience for yourself.
    SecurityProfessional is Back up and running!

Comment

When you contact the Hospital concerning this potential vacancy, ask for a copy of the 'job description' as this little document will give a better picture of the site duties/policies etc.

Good luck with the lateral Career move!
      "We make a living by what we get, but we make a life by what we give" - Winston Churchill

Comment

I can only speak for around Minnesota, but hospital wages far exceed mall pay and the benefits are generally a lot better as well. The best paying mall gig around here is the Mall of America. Officers there can make $15 an hour if they're lucky. The hospitals around here have officers making more than $20 an hour. Not that pay is everything, but it sure helps.

Comment