Question about Florida licenses

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about Florida licenses

I am new to the job market here in Florida. I am new to the state, and I am planning to apply for a Concealed Weapons Permit soon. I was wondering if anyone can tell me about what types of licenses are required to do security work in Florida..i.e.(carrying a concealed firearm, or at least having one available for use while on duty)..I understand that there may be training involved..I have been out of the loop so to speak..for about twenty or so years. I'm not sure if you have to be licensed here to even work security.

I have a bad knee, and I am in my late 40's.. I'm just a vet w/prior military LE experience that is looking for a night job..I worked security in the past w/NO weapon.. I will never do that again..I am unable to really do some of the physical stuff, like running, etc..(due to a bad knee)..any comments would be greatly appreciated. I am large in stature/weight that may be well suited for blocking the door, and that's about it..lol..

I can tell you that to work unarmed security you have to have a Class D license. I believe that it starts out with a 20 hour course, followed by a refresher course within two years, but I forget the length of it.

To worked armed security you have to have a Class G license.

There are others here who have more experience in Florida than I do so I will let them fill in blanks.
    Last edited by Chimpie; 06-19-2007, 03:07 PM. Reason: Cause I type too fast.

Comment

Originally posted by juking View Post
      I am large in stature/weight that may be well suited for blocking the door, and that's about it..lol..
      *sigh* I'm not even going to bother with this one.

Comment

Class D Unarmed Security Officer License= 40 hours. You may take a 24 hour course get your license then before you renew your license (2 years) you must take the remaining 16 hours.