Collapse
No announcement yet.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello everyone, my name is David M. Marchetti and I am from Connecticut. I am a 20 year vet of the industry and for the last fourteen years I have been the operator/ owner of a security agency that's licensed by the Department of Public Safety a Division of the State Police. Just by chance I found this site and I think it's great that we fellow public safety professionals have a place to vent and have some good conversation.
    Last edited by Marchetti, David, M; 01-22-2007, 05:41 AM.

Welcome to the mix. I hope you will find it as interesting as I do.
    Enjoy the day,
    Bill

Comment

Welcome to the forums.

The concept of citations for line of duty performance is not new to me, but the actual deployment of that concept as reality is. So far, the only company I have seen actually issue "pins" or "certification bars" is IPC, which signify company instructors, life savers, etc.

In my own SOP manual, several "Premier Uniform and Accessories" citation pins, as well as citation pins from Smith and Warren Badge Makers, are stipulated as authorized wear. These pins and citations include such things as membership in select units (HRSU, CRO, Bicycle Patrol, etc); service awards (Good Conduct, Leadership, etc), and other such things.

Most security guards consider such things "cheap immitations of the police," but they're also working for a warm body company from 9 am to 5 pm, and don't expect to be woken from their reading during that shift - or perform the duties of a uniformed receptionist.

Any company that uses such awards and HR principles, which in other service organizations (retail, police, fire, EMS, sales, etc) have demonstrated a quantifable increase in employee "self-worth" and retainability will reap such rewards as increased comraderie, esprit de corps, loyalty to the agency, and loyalty to supervisors.
      Some Kind of Commando Leader