Multiple Co. Proprietary Security?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Multiple Co. Proprietary Security?

I was thinkin about something the other day...

Out here a lot of apartment complexes and housing communities work together in a "Crime Watch" kinda thing. Its not really a business or even an organization, just the leasing agents and managers getting together for discussions. I was thinking, if they collectively wanted to hire a security force have say 3-4 officers on per night who would rove between their properties, how could they do this without contracting through a private security co?

Would it even be possible?
    "Alright guys listen up, ya'll have probably heard this before, Jackson vs. Securiplex corporation; I am a private security officer, I have no State or governmental authority. I stand as an ordinary citizen. I have no right to; detain, interrogate or otherwise interfere with your personal property-... basically all that means is I'm a cop."-Officer Ernie
    "The Curve" 1998

Depends on your state. If the complexes are managed by a separate companies, then it is most likely a contract security force in practice.

One guy on the forums left because he was basically doing that, and its illegal in Minnesota. Renting himself out as an "employee" of a bunch of complexes and individual houses, and saying, "Its ok that I'm a felon without an owner's license or personal security license, as I'm working for individual employers, and not a contract guard."

Now, I would think the smart way to do that would be for the management companies to create a holding LLC and have that holding LLC secure agent of the owner status, ... Wait, I'm describing a private security company.

I'd say no. Any one have any other ideas?
    Some Kind of Commando Leader

"Every time I see another crazy Florida post, I'm glad I don't work there." ~ Minneapolis Security on Florida Security Law

Comment

Originally posted by BHR Lawson