Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Security/policing in Canada

Hi;

Allow me to introduce myself-I'm a criminology student and security guard from Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. I can't help but notice that the way security/policing is done in the United States is far different than it's done in Canada. Because of my rather extensive knowledge of how security/policing is done in Canada, I'd like to answer any questions you may have.

Can Amercians get work up there lol

Comment

Originally posted by pfd1615
      Can Amercians get work up there lol
      Sort of. To get into the RCMP (the mounties) you must be a Canadian citizen. Most other police forces will accept permanent residents. However, the process here is VERY competitive and it's unlikely as a non-citizen you'll get in, unless you're a visible minority. Other LEO jobs are often the same way.

In terms of security, it wouldn't be a problem. Security jobs aren't that good here, though, so it's nothing you'd want to move for.

Comment

cool thanks for the quick answer!

Comment

Describe the average security guard's duties, powers, and mission? Are they used to protect people, protect property, or protect neither and only observe? Are they authorized to be armed with a handgun? With intermediate weapons?
          Some Kind of Commando Leader

"Every time I see another crazy Florida post, I'm glad I don't work there." ~ Minneapolis Security on Florida Security Law

Comment

Private Security - Canada

The Corp of Commissionaires in Canada appear to be a very professional private security organisation.

http://www.commissionaires.ca

The Corp of Commissionaires also exist in Australia and the UK and like Canada are recruited from retired military and police.

Comment

Sorry it took so long to reply..night shifts...

Originally posted by N. A. Corbier
              Describe the average security guard's duties, powers, and mission?
              Well, let's break this apart: