Special Police

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Special Police

Are there any Special Police Officers, Deputies, constables or conservators of the peace out there?

I am a Sworn Special Police Officer in Washington DC (full arrest powers,blue lights, ect), all armed security in DC have to be Sworn in as Special Police Officers because pretty much Police are the only people allowed to have firearms in the city limits.

I would like to hear from other Special Officers and learn about the regulations to be a Special Police Officers, Deputies, constables or conservators in your state.
    Last edited by SecurityJamesUSA; 12-17-2005, 08:59 AM.

Special Police

I am a Special Police Officer here in North Carolina. In this state you must have completed a police academy to be sworn in. We have full arrest powers on the property and hot pursuit authority.

Comment

I have a question for you two. I have heard several Federal LEOs deride the "Special Police Officers" as glorified guards, who should not have arrest powers, and should not have the word "police" in their title.

Does anyone who has special police authority have issues/problems/etc with the local "regular" law enforcement agencies and officers?

I remember one federal contract where the officer on the post (DEA) would be sworn in as a DEA Agent or other Special Police Officer (I forget which), to allow them to arrest any trespasser on property, enforce parking/traffic laws on site, and to have access to NCIC, etc. The company was required to provide one squad with red and blue lights, and another squad with red and blue lights to transport to the county jail. They would write an authorization for the blue lights for the transport unit.
      Some Kind of Commando Leader

"Every time I see another crazy Florida post, I'm glad I don't work there." ~ Minneapolis Security on Florida Security Law

Comment

Special Police