Louisiana Katrina/Rita Relife

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Louisiana Katrina/Rita Relife

Couldn't figure out the best place to post this... I'm curious if anyone else worked in Louisiana after Hurricane Katrina and Rita, and if so... what part.

I worked in Slidell, Kenner, Butte (sp?), Choputulas (sp?) and New Orleans for Securitas... I (we) drove down shortly after Thanksgiving.

Also, are there any companies with Officers still "deployed" down south?

Thanks
    "What if this is as good as it gets?" ~ Melvin Udall

I was down there Oct 9th 2005- Nov. 14th 2005 with The Wackenhut Corp.

Stayed in Kenner, worked in Plaquemines Parish.
    "Alright guys listen up, ya'll have probably heard this before, Jackson vs. Securiplex corporation; I am a private security officer, I have no State or governmental authority. I stand as an ordinary citizen. I have no right to; detain, interrogate or otherwise interfere with your personal property-... basically all that means is I'm a cop."-Officer Ernie
    "The Curve" 1998

Comment

Well, I live in Louisiana and work at Bayou Steel In LaPlace. The Sunday morning before Katrinia made landfall my supervisor went in to work. He called me and said, "If I'm still alive tommorrow I expect you to releive me as usual." I told him he was crazy to go down there with a (at that time) Cat 5 storm headed right at him but the plant had a policy of leaving a fire watch of about 6 people to ride out storms. That included Us, the Emergency Med Techs. The Melt Shop furnace bunker would be the place where the crew would shelter when things got bad.