Can A Security Guard carry handcuffs?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can A Security Guard carry handcuffs?

I work for a company in Arkansas and have been seacrching the web looking for the answer and nothing. Can a security guard/ officer carry handcuffs?
    I'm a private security officer , non commisioned thx for your help

Have you checked Arkansas State Statute? Under federal law, no person under 18 may possesss restraints. That is the only 50 states rule. Some states prohibit citizens from carrying restraints.

90% of states have no laws on the books restricting citizens from carrying restraints.

Even if you are authorized to carry handcuffs, you get the following questions:

1. Are you authorized under statute or common law to make arrests or detainments?
    2. Are you trained, or will you seek training, in criminal law (related to arrests), defensive tactics (surviving the arrest encounter), handcuffing procedures (how to properly restrain someone), and civil liability related to arrest?

The moment you place someone in handcuffs you are depriving them of their freedom, and the many state courts have ruled you are arresting them. It may be in the name of the people (not the state), but it is still a valid arrest and all the problems associated with an arrest are now yours.
    Some Kind of Commando Leader

"Every time I see another crazy Florida post, I'm glad I don't work there." ~ Minneapolis Security on Florida Security Law

Comment

Exactly as Nathan says.. Best places to check into this, is your supervisor, local PD can give you direction, and other Security Agencies.

I would highly suggest researching your state and city, and checking into getting trained.
      Deputy Sheriff

Comment

Originally posted by littlerockguard
        I work for a company in Arkansas and have been seacrching the web looking for the answer and nothing. Can a security guard/ officer carry handcuffs?