Professional Rescuer Duties

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Professional Rescuer Duties

How many of you are classified as a "professional rescuer," which is someone who performs first aid or life saving measures for compensation?

If so, are you regulated by your State Bureau of EMS? (Or Proviencial?) Are you required to hold a DOT First Responder certificate? Is your agency required to be a "first responder" organization, "first aid squad," or "rescue squad? under state law?

What do your duties include as a professional rescuer? Are you responsible for CPR and Rescue Breathing only, or for full BLS support? Do you have AEDs and are you authorized to use them?
    Some Kind of Commando Leader

"Every time I see another crazy Florida post, I'm glad I don't work there." ~ Minneapolis Security on Florida Security Law

I am an EMT as part of my duties. It's not a condition of employment, but the course is available for those officers who wish to take it. I recieve no extra compensation for it, so it's not really that great of a deal.

We have full BLS first responder gear as defined by the NYS Department of Health, we're classified as a non-transporting, first response agency. We also have a student-run EMS service that's on a few nights a week. They work off the same license. If it's determined by an EMT or CFR that a patient is in need of transport to the hospital, we contact the local commercial ambulance service.

Comment

I took the EMT-A course back in the early 80's. I'm over due in taking a refresher course.

The CSST in Quebec (Workmen's Compensation Board) requires that every place of work have 1 "secouriste" (first aider) per 50 employees per shift. The government pays for the courses every 2 years.
      I enforce rules and regulations, not laws.
      Security Officers. The 1st First Responders.

Comment