Verbal Judo

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Verbal Judo

First let me start off by saying that I am new to this forum. I have briefly browsed through some of the threads/posts, and finally decided that I would like to throw in my two cents.

How many individuals in this forum have received training in "Verbal Judo"? I have noticed when I was reading "What's your style?...", that a certain forum member, of whom I won't single out, could learn a great deal from Verbal Judo.

Basically, i'm just wondering who has received formal training or who has read the book?

Also, does anyone have any personal experiences where applying Verbal Judo techniques helped in the field?
    "To win one hundred victories in one hundred battles is not the highest skill. To subdue the enemy without fighting is the highest skill." Sun-Tzu

I am a Verbal Judo instructor and have practiced it for many years. It is simply a great tool for cutting through the "posturing" and getting the desired results. The bottom line in any encounter is to get the job done.It can be the hard way, but most times thats not necessary. Many people need to save face, so let them. This is what I teach my rookies; "say what you want, but do what I say." Explain yourself and the response that you expect. If after exhausting the rational approach, try saying, " is there anything I can do to convince you to comply?" Thats when you make the force option available.
    Jerry
    http://personalprotectionconcepts.info

Comment

Verbal Judo is great. Its also often called TactCOM or Tactical Communications. I like the techniques taught in the book because I've found they are effective in overcoming resistance on part of the subject.

Comment

I did a quick search and found the writer has 3 books out. While they all probably cover the same material is there one in particular anyone would recommend?