Is Black Water a private security?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is Black Water a private security?

Hi everyone i'm new here. Does anyone know anything about BlackWater? Are they consider a private security or are they much more then that. I'm interested in what they do base on the media coverage of them. As of now i'm a Federal Police Officer but want to expand my career. Any info. would be appreaciated.
    Last edited by FLEO; 08-30-2006, 02:32 AM.

That website will provide you (obviously) with all the needed info, but just a short answer; yes, Blackwater is a private security company. They have a lot of high-risk government contracts (including combat contracts) though.
    "Alright guys listen up, ya'll have probably heard this before, Jackson vs. Securiplex corporation; I am a private security officer, I have no State or governmental authority. I stand as an ordinary citizen. I have no right to; detain, interrogate or otherwise interfere with your personal property-... basically all that means is I'm a cop."-Officer Ernie
    "The Curve" 1998

Comment

They're just a private security company with federal contracts, good media representation, and high hiring standards. Technically, they're being called a "Private Military Contractor," or PMC.

They're also not the only one.
      Some Kind of Commando Leader

"Every time I see another crazy Florida post, I'm glad I don't work there." ~ Minneapolis Security on Florida Security Law

Comment

Thanks for the infos guys. After reading through this forum i noticed that alot of LEO are looking down on SO's. Before i became a sworn FLEO i was once a SO when i was going to college for my BA. I have the highest respect for security, as they also have a tough job. It seems like no body appreaciates security these days. People should respect security more as they are also a first line of defense in crime. I give you guys alot of props. Be proud and stay safe.