Easy Gigs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Easy Gigs

Newbie here. These forums helped sway me toward security. I'm a college student looking for an easy gig in Chicago. This means being able to do some homework/reading at the site. I'm more than willing to do the midnight shift, but I heard you still do loads of walking in the big office buildings. Hotels, apartments, hospitals, museums. What are the best bets for an easy gig? I want to build a solid work history in this industry but I do need as much time as possible for school whilst still earning a living.

Originally posted by Friday
    Newbie here. These forums helped sway me toward security. I'm a college student looking for an easy gig in Chicago. This means being able to do some homework/reading at the site. I'm more than willing to do the midnight shift, but I heard you still do loads of walking in the big office buildings. Hotels, apartments, hospitals, museums. What are the best bets for an easy gig? I want to build a solid work history in this industry but I do need as much time as possible for school whilst still earning a living.
    If you intend to make security a serious career backed by a college degree, you may want to look at Guardsmark. Many of their sites are basically access control, fire prevention and the like. It's not uncommon to have several hours in a shift (midnight especially) to study. After obtaining your degree, you may be a candidate for account manager at Guardsmark while you look for more challenging positions in security or LE. Of course, you may just decide to stay on.

Welcome to the forums.
    Security: Freedom from fear; danger; safe; a feeling of well-being. (Webster's)

Comment