No announcement yet.

Why did you switch to working security?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why did you switch to working security?

I used to be a tropical plant care technician going to 5-10 office buildings a day caring for over 2500 indoor plants per week all over the DFW area of Tx.
    At some buildings the guard in the lobby would be reading a magazine or a paper while I'm sweating it out trying to maintain over $100K of indoor plants and trees.
    I finally got the hint when a friendly guard enlightened me that I was making the same $ as he was.
    I then switched over to working security and never looked back since.
    Observe and report what you saw with a good flashlight.
    Bedtime at sunrise

I started security because i wanted to work in law enforcement agina in some small way. I also wanted a fun part time job. My buddy used to work for the same company i did and it seemed fun.
    Robert
    Here endith the lesson

Comment

well, it wasn't for the money LOL

I prefer security jobs to other jobs because it allows me to be in control of what I do rather than a supervisor looking over my shoulder all day or a co-worker bugging me or complaining. It allows me to be the boss of the situation around me and lets me set the rules rather than an outsider saying that "the customer is always right" when they are not. The only people I have to listen to and obey is my boss and the client I'm doing security for.

Security is a very responsible job, but is is also not very stressful most of the time. You don't have to make quotas, deadlines, or anything like that. You just have to show responsibilty to get respect and appreciation from your employer and don't have to kiss any ass.

I never get stressed out doing security and never hate going to work like I have with other jobs where I know there's a lot of work ahead and I know it's going to be a bad day.