Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Body armour-help!

I'm a COMPLETE newbie when it comes to body armour so please help me out;

I'm switching security companies, and the company I'm working for is requiring me to wear an external bulletproof vest (level II suggested). I've seen terms like "carrier", "trauma plates", etc.. but I'm not sure what exactly they are. From what I can tell, a vest is simply trauma plates that are inserted into an internal or external carrier. Is that correct?

I believe I speak for everyone here sir, when I say, to Hell with our orders.
    -Lieutenant Commander Data
    sigpic

Comment

So if I understand you correctly there are two different types of inserts-panels, and plates? I'm guessing that the panels go on the front and back and the plates protect the vitals?

Comment

In essence, yes... Although most vests only have a slot on the front for a trauma plate...

Did I read that correctly, that they want you to wear an EXTERNAL vest? As in, outside your shirt, similar to a military flak jacket? What kind of site is this?
        Corbier's Commandos - "Stickin it to the ninjas!"
        Originally posted by ValleyOne
        BANG, next thing you know Bob's your Uncle and this Sgt is seemingly out on his a$$.
        Shoulda called in sick.
        Be safe!

Comment

Originally posted by Bridgegate
          In essence, yes... Although most vests only have a slot on the front for a trauma plate...

Did I read that correctly, that they want you to wear an EXTERNAL vest? As in, outside your shirt, similar to a military flak jacket? What kind of site is this?
          That's right, external. Mainly for special events involving drunken individuals.

Comment

Wow... must be a pretty bad area if they're worried about drunks opening fire..

I've never looked into the external vests, myself... But my understanding is the panels are basically the same.. Just a different carrier...