A good/bad idea for a duty handgun?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A good/bad idea for a duty handgun?

I've been working security for the past 10 years, last 3 years armed.
    Currently I work for a company that pays pretty good and much more the average armed position in this area. Anyway, my company issues duty weapons and we all carry Glock 22's........

But if I were to quit/laid of/ or find part time armed position elsewhere I most likely would use my own handgun. I own Sig 220 (.45) and FN Five Seven in 5.7x28mm... I was wondering if it's a good idea to use Five Seven as a duty handgun, Sure the cartridge is very untraditional and not many people know of it but if I get approval from BSIS.... What do you think?

It's a nice firearm, but good luck finding anything for it. I don't know of any decent retention holsters for the five seven. In my opinion, carry whatever you are comfortable with, but if the only holster you can find is a cheap nylon level 0 retention holster I would advise against it. Our company is big on carrying at the bare minimum a level 2, although just about all of us utilize level 3 retention safariland raptor holsters. You can fill a football stadium with all the different holsters and accessories for a glock
    "To win one hundred victories in one hundred battles is not the highest skill. To subdue the enemy without fighting is the highest skill." Sun-Tzu

Comment

Originally posted by FiveSeven
      But if I were to quit/laid of/ or find part time armed position elsewhere I most likely would use my own handgun. I own Sig 220 (.45) and FN Five Seven in 5.7x28mm... I was wondering if it's a good idea to use Five Seven as a duty handgun, Sure the cartridge is very untraditional and not many people know of it but if I get approval from BSIS.... What do you think?