I should know this, but...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I should know this, but...

Ok, some stupid questions from me to you.

No matter how long I polish my shoes, I can never get them as shiny as I see some. Is this a matter of the material? What is the best/most effective way to get a good polish on my shoes?

Should it really take me almost an hour to iron 1-2 pants and get a decent crease? What is the best way to identify where the front crease should be? I have the most difficult time with this, and the crease often ends up to one side or the other, or I wind up with one good crease and one "phantom" crease that I can't quite get rid of.

It's not so much that I'm new to this, just that I seem to never have mastered the above arts. I'd appreciate any feedback. I take pride in my appearance, but I still think I could look sharper.
    That's a direct quote. Not word for word, but the gist of it.

I have a pair of shoes that are polymer, not leather, and always appear "mirror brite." If I wish to "polish" them, I do it with foaming window cleaner. This is the "cheap" way to go, if you consider 75 dollars for a pair of shoes cheap.

For true leather, there is a system. It involves buying quality leather polish which has no oil in it, or burning the oil off. Perhaps you have heard of flaming tins of Kiwi polish?

Properly polishing your shoes means that you have to ensure that the oils and waxes in the leather polish and the shoes don't rise to the top and cloud up again.

I'm sure we'll have a debate as to removing layers vs building on them, etc. Lets see what says you.

As far as creases in pants, I'm not sure how to describe it in words.
    Some Kind of Commando Leader

"Every time I see another crazy Florida post, I'm glad I don't work there." ~ Minneapolis Security on Florida Security Law

Comment

One: Young lady there is never a stupid or dumb question when it is sincerely asked.