Flashlight options

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Flashlight options

Hi folks. I work as an unarmed security officer at a biotech facility in Maryland. I have thought about replacing my AA mini Mag Lite with something a little more powerful. My current idea is to get a Streamlight Stinger.

Anybody have experience with this flashlight or have a personal preference?

That is a very good choice.
    I really wish you would get that light if no other.
    Otherwise, go check out www.candlepowerforums.com to learn even more about making your job really fun with flashlights.

By the way, i have worked as an armed guard and still relied heavily on a good-a$$ flashlight.
    Observe and report what you saw with a good flashlight.
    Bedtime at sunrise

Comment

If you want stock, I suggest a Streamlight Strion over the Stinger. Why? Because I need a ginnea pig... I mean, um, its smaller than the stinger, and therefore weighs less and works on a belt better.

Due note, if you go packing a 9 inch flashlight on your regular trouser belt, you will quickly note it slides around, jabs into you, etc. I always suggest buying a Uncle Mikes or DutyPro (www.qmuniforms.com) 2 1/2 nylon duty belt to carry a belt mounted flashlight on. You may already have one, working biotech, for a radio and/or gloves.

Wearing duty rig accessories on a trouser belt not only looks stupid, IMHO, it will definately eat your belt into shreds.
      Some Kind of Commando Leader

"Every time I see another crazy Florida post, I'm glad I don't work there." ~ Minneapolis Security on Florida Security Law

Comment

I'll take a look at it

I'll take a look at the Strion. Didn't really consider it. I have to agree with you that it looks silly to have 20 equipment pouches on a regular trouser belt. Fortunately, I don't need to wear a duty rig...so the compact powerful light idea might work well.

Comment

Originally posted by wvd1979