What should one do...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What should one do...

If they are more certified than their management? I was curious about my personal certifications so I went on the TXDPS website. While I was there, I searched for my SGT's name. He only holds a non-commissioned card in the State of Texas while I hold both Non-com and com. Should I consider applying somewhere for a managerial position? Any ideas, thoughts, etc.?

Or...

should I just gut it out and work my way up to mgmt?

Comment

What are you studying in college Dougo and how far are off from completion ?

Perhaps look at both avenues - as you never know what opportunities may come about in the future. A nice suit and tie helps as well, but no cowboy boots ok ?
      "Keep your friends close and your enemies even closer" Sun Tzu

Comment

Oh c'mon, Oz. I'm in Texas, you don't wear cowboy boots and you don't get a second glance for a job. Hahaha...

I'm actually studying theology in college and have roughly 1.5 years left. I am going to do some work on a biz admin/mgmt degree to kind of bolster my resume. I am still intending to go LEO after a few years, but this is where I wanna stay for a few years.

Comment

To put this perspective, your supervisor has an unarmed guard card and you have an armed guard card.

What other industry certifications, if any does he have? CPP? CPO? etc. How long has he been in the industry?

I would find out what prospective employer expects for their entry level supervisory personnel.
          Some Kind of Commando Leader

"Every time I see another crazy Florida post, I'm glad I don't work there." ~ Minneapolis Security on Florida Security Law

Comment

N.a.