Guard Touring Software

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Guard Touring Software

Thought I would open up a thread to discuss guard touring software and hardware. I want to contribute to any questions you might have about its use how it helps how it hinders. Beat me up with your questions you either love it or you hate it.

Its come a long way since the days of the old Detex "wand," which basically just told the manager that the guard was awake and moving around. (There's been more than one thread in the past about how guards faked it or beat the system, but I digress.)

I think you have 3 issues with tour software. From a client's view, I want to see that the S/O is doing his rounds, but I also want a snapshot of my site, especially if the DAR is real basic - what issues do I need to deal with that affect my bottom line? As a security manager, I want to see that lights are being checked, safety equipment is there and ready, etc. The format needs to be easy to read and logical.

Then there is the S/O using it. The last app i used on an iphone was pretty good - you pretty much didn't need a separate DAR, because you could enter a code for a light out, a basic service call, etc. My only objection was the phone was an electronic babysitter - if I have to do rounds every 20 minutes, and I got stuck on the back 40 dealing with a transient, I don't need the phone loudly reminding my I'm late for a tour - I already know I'm running behind on shift.

Comment