Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Requisite introduction.

Hi all,
    I've been lurking for a few weeks. After reading the insightful posts in the various threads, I've decided it's time to formally join the fun. I live in Connecticut (Noticed a rather large CT presence on here,) and I work in Loss Prevention. I also attend college full time. I recently switched from engineering to criminal justice with a concentration in private security. Just figured I'd pop my head in, and say hi.
    This may not be the right place to post this, but, I was wondering if anyone here knows of a good SO company, or leads on a good SO program in Connecticut. Although I really enjoy LP work, I am a college student, and since I have the Summer off, I'd like to not only make a little extra money, but also get some experience in another end of the security discipline.
    Thanks!
    Al

Well, some of it will depend on where in CT you are. Many companies will have multiple offices and some are better to work out of then others. It will also depend on what type of security you are looking to get into. When I first started out, I enjoyed working for SSC. Security Services of Connecticut. One of the best managers I have ever worked for was my Branch Manager and he is now the Senior Vice President.

Best bet....shop arround. Get your resume squared away, and go to a few companies. Fill out their apps and see what the can offer you.

Good luck.
    www.oramsecurity.com

Comment

Thanks for the reply

SGTUSMC8541,
      Thanks for the reply. You're absoloutely correct regarding the differences in types of security jobs and different companies. I will need to do more research. Also, I believe you frequent another forum I used to lurk around a lot (specialoperations.com.) Anyway, Semper Fi, and thank you!

Comment

Originally posted by SgtUSMC8541