Hotel Security Directors?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hotel Security Directors?

Any hotel security directors here? I'm a 22 year veteran of law enforcement and I am a Lt. on a agency with 30 sworn officers. I am involved with diversity issues and I feel I have a strtong crime prevention background. I also have a BA in Criminal Justice. I am considering getting my CPP, but obviously that is down the road. Anyway, I've been thinking about security director jobs but I really don't know much about the hospitality industry. Am I what hotels are looking for or do ass't directors generally get promoted to the director's position? Any info or advice would be much appreciated. Thanks.

Welcome to the SIW forums. I moved your post to this thread as a starting point for you.

Here's a link to a thread that may help answer your questions.
    Retail Security Consultant / Expert Witness
    Co-Author - Effective Security Management 6th Edition

Contributor to Retail Crime, Security and Loss Prevention: An Encyclopedic Reference

Comment

Curtis,

I did read that thread, however it is about hospital security, which I would imagine is different than hotel security. Thanks.

Comment

Sorry about that - they both start with 'H'. There are a few members who do Hotel Security on the site.
        Retail Security Consultant / Expert Witness
        Co-Author - Effective Security Management 6th Edition

Contributor to Retail Crime, Security and Loss Prevention: An Encyclopedic Reference

Comment

Including HotelSecurity

He is in Canada, but could be a wealth of knowledge for you
          SecurityProfessional is Back up and running!

Comment

Welcome Joe. My case is not typical. I have been the Assistant Director since the mid 80's. In the mid 90's our Director died & his title was given to the Director of Security for the company that manges the 3 hotels I am Assistant for. The buck stops with him but the day-to-day operations are done by me.