Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to the site from FLA

Hello all,

I was surfing the 'net looking for some useful tips on how to handle drunken college kids when I landed upon this website. How wonderful!! I had no idea there was such a gathering place for those of us working in the security industry! It's WONDERFUL to meet you all!

I'm fairly new to the security arena myself, just got my license ("D") in July, and going to finally put it to good use! I just landed a position as a Campus Security Officer for one of our fine institutions of higher learning down here in Florida.

It's not an armed position, so I won't be able to defend myself via that method. Does anyone have any tips on how to handle drunken college kids? I'm pretty good at communication, so I'll be looking to defuse any potential problems with words (and a good dose of psychology). I've heard about this "Verbal Judo", and was wondering if anyone would recommend picking up one of the books on the subject? I remember this being discussed somewhat in my "D" training class, but it wasn't really covered in depth.

Or, does anyone have any firsthand knowledge on how to deal with intoxicated kids? BTW, I'm female, so I think that verbally is the only way I'll be able to do battle with a noncompliant frat brat....

Shell
    Quando Omni Flunkus Moritati

Being a female will help you in those incidents. The mom factor comes into play.

When speaking to someone who is drunk and/or high there are four things to remember:

1. Speak s...l...o...w...l...y
    2. Speak clearly
    3. Give simple, easily understood commands
    4. Give time for the person to comply. It may take a few seconds for your point to get through an alcohol and/or drug soaked brain, so the person may not be intentionally non-compliant.