Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello from California

Hello,

My name is Rick, and I am a recently retired police officer from northern California. I retired after 23+ years on the force. I have been both a patrolman and a detective (which we call inspector's.)

I started out in the uniformed security field in 1974, became plain clothes security in 1978, became a police reserve (non paid volunteer) in 1980, then decided I should get paid for doing the work, so I got myself hired as a regular police officer in 1983.

I decided that going back into the security field was a good idea, but then I found out that even with all my police training, I had to go through all the same training that someone who has never been in the field has to go through. Even though I am authorized to carry a concealed weapon in every state in the country, I have to get a state permit to carry an exposed weapon. I also have to get the permits for baton and mace carry (I have been carrying all this stuff since 1980.)

Oh well, one has to do what one has to do to get the job. I'm just happy I found your web site which has alot of good info regarding the security field, and I'm sure I'll enjoy the change of pace working with the public on a lower key basis. Hopefully I won't be dealing with any more murders, robberies or rapes. But if I do it will get handled. Be talking with you again soon.

Hi there, Nice to meet ya rick! well just to give you FYI, most of the time as a security officer you will face the same things and types of people you did as law enforcement officer depending on the type of property you are assigned to (section 8 housing complexs are on example).........
    Its not how we die that counts.....
    Its not how we lived that counts....
    all that matters is how we saved that one life that one time by being in the right place at the right time....

Comment