New Guy Here

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Guy Here

Hi everyone. My name is Brent, and I am a 20 year old college student working part time security at an upscale preparatory school. Just wanted to introduce myself since I am new at this site! Thanks. Brent

Welcome. What's your major?
    Security: Freedom from fear; danger; safe; a feeling of well-being. (Webster's)

Comment

I am majoring in Administration of Justice (Fancy new term for criminal justice). I am working as a security officer to get some law enforcement experience and make some money for college at the same time. Could some of you tell me about what kind of security work you are in? Thanks. Brent

Comment

Originally posted by Brent311
        ... Could some of you tell me about what kind of security work you are in? Thanks. Brent
        See "What type of security are you doing?" under General Discussion.

Comment

Welcome to the site Brent. The one thing I want to say is Security is not law enforcement experience. If you ever mention that to a police officer, especially when you put an application in with a LE agency, they will laugh you out the door. It does help teach you certain aspects, such as report writing. However, there are many things that security does that LE would never do, and vise versa.

Comment

Originally posted by soontobeLEO
            ..... The one thing I want to say is Security is not law enforcement experience...
            Depends. A security officer who is trained in handcuffing, batons, OC, etc. and makes arrests, testifies in court, is gaining LE experience. The training intensity and procedures may vary from LE, but the judgment, skills, and the like will help. A s/o who is trained to observe and report, like I am, would be pushing it to say they are receiving experience in LE.

Comment