Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just a student

Hello all,

I am Ryan and I am from California. I am currently a student and am studying Criminal Justice and am going for my Bachelors degree. I am not currently, nor ever have been, employed in the security industry. My current plan is to ultimately go into law enforcement. However, recently I have looked into the possibility of joining the military after college to join as an officer.

I stumbled on this site while browsing Officer.com. To be honest, before I started reading posts, (which I have been doing for the past few months on here) I only thought of security guards as stereotypical warm body guard.

I also used to think a lot of Guards armed with more than a flashlight were "wannabes". The word "wannabe" seems to have a very negative connotation. This is probably due to almost all movies, and the media, that feature security guards as aspiring police officers who just couldn't make it. However, after looking at the word "wannabe", the actual denotation of the word is just that; you "want-to-be" a law enforcement officer. Which I believe a good percentage of young security officers aspire to be.

After reading hundreds of posts over the past few month, my perception of security officers and the security industry has changed completely. To give the due credit, SecTrainer, Bill W.(Can't remember his last name), and Curtis Baillie have changed my perception of the security industry. I now understand why trained security officers are so ever important to not only protect properties and persons from terrorism, crime, enforce rules & regulations, and protect client's from civil liability.

While it seems SecTrainer constantly apologizes for his long winded posts, I thoroughly enjoy all of them. Even his posts about marketing interest me, even though that has nothing to do with any field I am looking to get into, but it does help me understand the business world a little bit more.