Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi People

my name is TJ.
    i've been a security officer for about a month and a half in Houston,TX.
    i originally tried to join the site 3 weeks ago(i just got the ability to post) cause i wanted to ask for help on understanding the function and need of the inner duty belt with the duty belt.
    i have since gotten a small lesson from my outfitter, saying that there was no reason to buy a inner belt, because ANY normal belt does the same job with keepers.
    so, now i'm just here to get information i don't have, and any advise given to me by others in my chosen profession.

on the lighter side
    HI!
    i'm a guard in hotel parking lot. any advise on the best cold gear(and hot gear for the spring and summer) would always be greatly appreciated.
    as well as any tips on staying awake, cause my schedule is 11p-7a and 12a-5a.
    i tend to catch myself trying to doze off around 4-4:30 when i have to work til 7, and on my way home in the car when i get off at 5.
    i will of course be checking and posting the rest of the forums, and understand that this is an introductions thread, not one for questions.
    thank you.

is anyone else in Houston?

Welcome aboard, TJ. You'll get all kinds of answers here - sometimes even if you didn't want them. (Kidding!)

The inner belt is to provide stabalization and also keep the outer belt from sagging. I wore a single belt for years, and it always sagged after a year or two on the heaviest side. I also get back aches from years of wearing a belt, so I've added duty suspenders to my rig.

Staying awake is tough - coffee is about all I can recommend (for 4:00am - not before driving home, or you'll be up all day). Energy drinks don't work for me - they taste gross and give me a stomach ache, but that's just me.

Comment