X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• hello from Syracuse NY

hi everyone-
    This forum is a great idea.
    I'm a 48 yr old female & I've been working Security for 2 yrs now- prior to this I worked mainly in Healthcare. I got burnt out in that field, so I decided to give Security a try & I really like it. The problem I'm having isn't the work itself, but the companies I've worked for (2 so far). There seems to be a lack of support- managers & supervisors are so over-burdened that they don't really seem to have time to manage or supervise the sites. I would be perfectly happy to "wing it" using my own best judgement, but they don't want that either. Too much of the time I'm in a no-win situation--if I ask for help, they're too busy & resent it, but if I use my own judgement & training, they say I should have asked for help! What I'm wondering is- is this attitude pretty much to be expected in this industry, or do I just need to find the right company?
    Sorry this got so long & thanx for listening! Any feedback appreciated.

This is pretty common among the companies iv worked for as well. I cant speak for everyone else,nor can one really give a set answer because this is a company by company basis. I will say that lack of communication is very common in this line of work. That goes from the managment to the supervisors to the officers. And the training isnt usually the best either. My advice is if your serious about working for serious companies then Id try building up an appealing resume. Good training,and gaining lots of experince. You never know,you may decide that this line of work isnt for you and decide to go back to Nursing. There's usually a little more money in that.

Comment

What you really need is to find the right branch manager. I was fortunate to find a very good one who has been doing that job most of his adult life. My previous company was much as discribed by the other posters. I do not think it is the company so much .