Security Mag Article - Comments

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Security Mag Article - Comments

I wonder how many have read the article "compiled" by Bill Zalud in the November issue of Security Magazine entitled "Security Officers as a Business Strategy" (pp 79-83). I have no previous experience of "compilation" as a means of creating a magazine article (as opposed to a monograph), but I suppose the fact that the article was "compiled", rather than "written by" by Mr. Zalud, is supposed to immunize him from criticism for publishing something that isn't worth the paper it's written on. I certainly don't blame him for what appears to be a certain reluctance to take full credit for this piece of...whatever.

The article purports to examine, among other questions, the pros and cons of "contract" versus "in-house" security. Turning immediately to the last page to note the "sources" from which the article was "compiled", we might be excused for objecting that the sources were all representatives of contract security firms - AlliedBarton (King of Prussia, PA), Day & Zimmerman (Philadelphia, PA), and Vigilos (Seattle, WA). Also quoted in the article but not listed at the end is a representative from Garda. I don't know why he's not a "source", but apparently he hasn't risen to those dizzying heights.

Being "compiled" does not mean that Mr. Zalud did not write any part of the article - presumably he wrote the text that "glues together" the comments of the "contributors". Nevertheless, as the piece is written in a format that only loosely attributes text to contributors, it is indeed very difficult to know who says what. Mr. Zalud seems to be the conductor who keeps the Bias Express on schedule, hitting all of the "stations" right on time.