Suggestions for Motivation for Training

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Suggestions for Motivation for Training

I work as an Account Trainer for my company. We are working trying to get our employees motivated to do some training via our online system. However here are some of the problems I am facing and honestly, don't blame my officers. However one of the benefits is college credit if an individual finishes the supervisory courses and classes. But this is not a bonus for everyone. It is also consideration for pay raises and promotions in the future.

1. It is self-study, and not paid for.
    2. Some do not have computer access, even though they can come to our office and work on it there.
    3. Some are retiree's and just are working to pass the time and collect a paycheck.

Does anyone have any suggestions or incentives besides compensation or initiating a pay raise for the courses completed?

Making it mandatory. Of course that would most likely mean compensation. Is the training something that could be life saving? If so, you might want to point that out.
    "Gun control, the theory that 110lb. women have the "right" to fistfight with 210lb. rapists. " Author Unknown

Comment

I understand your dilemma. Some companies allow employees who complete additional training to wear special pins or nameplates to indicate this to others. Another suggestion is to limit supervisor positions to those who are motivated enough to complete such programs. Of course, the company's legal department will want to examine such a proposed policy with their state's discrimination laws.
      Security: Freedom from fear; danger; safe; a feeling of well-being. (Webster's)

Comment

Consider the use of in-service training sessions that normally accompany normal shift briefings. Just like duck mating, short and sweet. Emphasis on their staying alive and not injured performing their normal duties based on small details easily remembered.
        Enjoy the day,