Too much of a straight shooter?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Too much of a straight shooter?

I was recently made manager of a security department at a mall that I've worked in for several years. Over that time I assisted the former manager frequently and built many positive relationships with many of the tenants and some of the regular customers. I thought I had a good bead on dealing with people, even those who were unhappy.

I've always been a straight-shooter and was honest and up-front (within the limits of politeness when appropriate of course), but I've never been the super happy, excited to see everyone type of guy. This is not to say I'm not courteous and polite, but I'm not the smiley "so happy to see you!" type. I don't know if this is because I also work as a police officer or if it's simply my nature but it's how I've operated for years. I also would not lie to people to make them happy or smile to their face and go against them behind their back.

However, I've noticed now that with this position when I am dealing with others who are the "super happy" types, they seem to think that I'm being rude when I am not reacting in kind. I can be completely polite and courteous but if I don't give them the answers they want to hear or I'm at all serious about it I suddenly hear a complaint has been made that I was "rude and unprofessional" These are complaints that I never heard from anyone except when I made an arrest/banned/etc.

Is this something others have had experience with? This is primarily an issue with people who don't like when I disagree with them or won't give them the information they want. Is this normal for you managers? Or is it a personality issue?
    Last edited by RF7126; 12-10-2011, 02:34 AM.

It can be a tough transition