PDA

View Full Version : CA - PC 832 - what does that mean?

rocker54321
04-20-2010, 06:26 PM
I'm pretty new to the security line of work. I have my guard card, chemical agent and baton permit and working to get my firearms permit.

While looking for jobs i've noticed a few of the positions (mostly the armed ones) saying that they prefer canidates be PC 832...

I found a little bit of info on it...but i'm still not to clear on what it is. Is anyone here PC 832 or know what it is and how it pertains to security?

N. A. Corbier
04-20-2010, 07:20 PM
I have never understood why guard companies want employees who are PC 832 Part I and II certified. And to be honest, I forget if you folks call it I and II, or A and B, or whatever.

Its Powers of Arrest for peace officers, if I remember correctly. Basically, its an enhanced powers of arrest class that teaches defensive tactics and criminal law for people who have peace officer arrest powers like Park Rangers and Reserve officers.

Hence, I don't really see why security personnel need the certification.

Reverend Red
04-20-2010, 09:15 PM
P.C. 832 is a California Penal Code and the 40 hour class that is commonly given that name is the minimum training requirements to be "in law enforcement." This is not the complete POST requirements needed to be a full-time officer, that is 940 hours. PC 832 allows you to be a uniformed animal control person or a custody transport officer, etc.

If you take the 24 hour firearms portion of this class. (total of 64 hours) You get a Modular POST Level III. This used to be PC 832 Mod 3. If you take another 250 hours or so you can get your Modular POST Level II.

There is not benefit to this class for private security unless you are working a city contract and writing tickets.

Reverend Red
04-20-2010, 09:22 PM