PDA

View Full Version : Light colors on security vehicle?

Brent311
01-01-2008, 07:32 PM
I know this issue has been brought up before, but I need to get a straight answer. I am a security officer at a large private college in Mississippi (approximately 200+ acres, 3500+ students). We do issue parking tickets, and occassional traffic violations for running stop signs, wreckless driving, etc. At the current time, we do not have any emergency lights on our vehicles. When I stop someone I basically have to flash high beams and honk horn. If the driver is uncooperative or I think there is need for further investigation, I will ask dispatch to call PD to have an officer arrive and assist or take over. Our director is now wanting to put lights on the vehicles. He wants to put red and green lights on the vehicles and wig wags, but others have told me security can only have green, amber, or white. We have an excellent relationship with the local PD, and they even have a detail that patrols our campus at night in addition to our units. A few PD officers have told me that we can put anything but blue on our cars since we are on private property, and the students agree to abide by our rules when they buy a student decal. My boss wants me to find out the legalities, but I can not find anything regarding the issue in MS state statutes. Can anyone be of assistance? It would be greatly appreciated!

I also wanted to add the color codes for emergency vehicles in Mississippi: blue/blue is law enforcement(some agencies use blue/red; some also have blue/amber). Red/red, red/white, and similar are usually fire and ems. Security is typically amber, green or white. After looking at others posts about their state's strict color codes, it seems that we are very lax here is MS!

Tennsix
01-01-2008, 07:35 PM
Schedule a meeting with your PD's traffic division commander. They explain the laws pertaining to lights and any authority you have to effect traffic stops.